• We need your support!

We are currently struggling to cover the operational costs of Xtremepapers, as a result we might have to shut this website down. Please donate if we have helped you and help make a difference in other students' lives!
    Click here to Donate Now (View Announcement)

Completely confused, need guidance on how to study

Reaction score
I recently shifted from matric/Fsc to O levels. I'm in my first year. I'm also new to my school, so no friends to help me out. I'm extremely confused about how to study. I've been googling a lot for information but I still haven't been able to make a coherent plan on how to go about studying for O levels.

This is the information I have gathered so far:

1.There is a course outline on Cambridge's website that tells me what I need to know for the exam
2.There is no standard book or notes. Multiple books for each subject are available. Similarly, many people have made notes for various subject and shared them online. Schools recommend a book for each subject, and students generally use that
3.The goal isn't to follow a specific book or set of notes, rather, it is to follow the course outline and make sure you know every thing in it. So if something is missing in my book and notes, I need to use another resource to get hold of that information
4.Its important to make sure you understand everything. This means I may need to use other books, the internet, or youtube for clarification when I feel the need

Assuming I'm correct about the above, I'm going to talk about whats confusing me. Exactly how do I go about making notes for each subject? I feel I have multiple ways to go about it:
1.Use my school recommended textbook as the baseline:
- This means I read my book in sequence cover to cover