• We need your support!

We are currently struggling to cover the operational costs of Xtremepapers, as a result we might have to shut this website down. Please donate if we have helped you and help make a difference in other students' lives!
    Click here to Donate Now (View Announcement)

Need help in grade threshold for IGCSE ICT practical

Reaction score
I checked the recent grade threshold for igcse ict practical where 69/80 and 66/80 would get u an A grade in each component.So the total comes upto 135/160.
The question is if i get 60/80 and 75/80, would it give me an A? as the total again comes to 135/160
I also want to know how A* grade is determined in ICT practical as there are 2 components? :?: :roll:
I'm very nervous please help me !!!!

Thank You

Reaction score
I'm no expert on this, but I believe your overall grade takes account your performance on all your papers. So if you score above an A in one paper but below an A in another, there is still a chance you'll end up with an A overall. With the values you gave, I would assume you would get an A.

As for an A*, the method that CIE uses for calculating these is shrouded in secrecy. The only official comment I believe is the note in all the grade threshold documents, "A* does not exist at the level of an individual component."

Reaction score
so there is no A* for the practical even though there are 2 components? and will they also count the theory marks to give an overall grade of A*?
In the report card will they right ICT Practical A grade and ICT theory A grade so overall is A* or directly they write ICT and A*?

Btw thanks for your previous reply :D

Reaction score